Love You to Pieces: Creative Writers on Raising a Child with Special Needs

not sure whether there description is right as the other book after this here also does only from the point of view of the one raised
Here the description of “Love You to pieces”
“The first literary collection—fiction, essays, and poetry—on raising special-needs children
The first collection of literary writing on raising a child with special needs, Love You to Pieces features families coping with autism, deafness, muscular dystrophy, Down syndrome and more. Here, poets, memoirists, and fiction writers paint beautiful, wrenchingly honest portraits of caring for their children, laying bare the moments of rage, disappointment, and guilt that can color their relationships. Parent-child communication can be a challenge at the best of times, but in this collection we witness the struggles and triumphs of those who speak their own language-or don’t speak at all-and those who love them deeply.”

morehere

Here a book I was part of

What Adults with Disabilities Wish All Parents Knew, Reflections from a Different Journey

see here
I start on page 18

Edited by Stanley D. Klein, Ph.D. and John D. Kemp

4 thoughts on “Love You to Pieces: Creative Writers on Raising a Child with Special Needs

  1. Thanks so much for the links. There’s a lot to be learned from your article. From my experience of bringing up a gay child, I can say that it seems no small thing to get your child’s needs right when you are often told you must be making very bad mistakes. I’m wondering if you mean to suggest that your parents ability to make wise choices for you was at all easy for them. Perhaps it was, but it looks pretty impressive..

  2. Anne,
    I am sure it was not easy. But not so much the decision not to judge per se but because of the siege endured from societal members who did judge me and judged my parents. To see the bigger picture to abstract a problem to depersonalize it for me I don’t know how hard that is/was for them I never asked but i assume it was essential that they did not see me as a tool to fulfill certain of their dreams and that they just accepted me for who I was I don’t know whether one learns that or whether that is just a capability with certain people or whether it comes with common sense. The only thing I know I would not be where I am and I would not be who I am without them.
    Thanks for the kind words about my parents
    Cheers
    Gregor

  3. I expect you have got at least one core feature: you have to see that your children are not basically about you. It is interesting that that seems to be quite a bit harder than it sounds.

  4. Indeed!! we commodify children too much. To often they are there to serve a purpose. I think that is not a good thing. Again I was lucky that I was not a means to an end.
    Cheers
    Gregor

Leave a Reply

