On reasonable accommodation

Here’s the beginning of a recent autobiographical post from AbnormalDiversity, where you can go if you want to read the whole thing. It tells us a lot about how universities are organized, and what our social priorities are.

OK, so I’ve found out that the midterm in my women and gender studies class requires that I write three essays during the course of the exam, and I know that it’ll be really painful to write that much by hand in a short time, especially when I’m anxious. Well, since difficulty with writing can be a feature of autistic people, and I’m registered at the university as an autistic student, shouldn’t I be able to use a computer to write my exam?

Not so fast! They can’t just take my word for it! They need a doctor’s note, which means I need to bug my Dad about making an appointment with the doctor, so that I can go and tell her what I need and she can write it down. Why is this necessary, again? My doctor doesn’t actually know what accommodations I need, she’s literally just writing down whatever I tell her, so why can’t I just tell them directly?

But anyway, we get the doctor’s appointment, a couple of weeks after I first figured out that I needed it. Then I miss it. We reschedule, and finally I’ve got a doctor’s note saying I need to use a computer for essay exams.

Leave a Reply

